Grain Producers SA is a company limited by guarantee and is governed by a Constitution.

Grain Producers SA Constitution

Directors believe their transparency and accountability is integral to achieving GPSA’s vision of ‘viable and sustainable grain producers in South Australia’.

View the GPSA Constitution

Transparency and accountability

All South Australian grain growers are welcome to be members of GPSA. Membership is free for growers who contribute levy funds under the Primary Industry Funding Scheme Grains 2012 a set of regulations passed through the South Australian Parliament in March 2012 – or previously under the Wheat Marketing Act 1989.

GPSA takes its responsibility to spend levies in the best interests of growers very seriously. For this reason, and to achieve complete transparency and accountability to growers, GPSA has an Audit and Finance Committee.

The committee meets regularly to oversee the organisation’s financial operations and reporting obligations. It is chaired by Mark Schilling and other members include Chairman Garry Hansen and Chief Executive Darren Arney. The committee has its own Terms of Reference, which can be viewed as a PDF document.

As a company limited by guarantee, GPSA lodges financial statements and reports annually with the Australian Securities and Investments Commission.

Governance framework

GPSA policy work is funded by grain producers through contributions made under the Primary Industries Funding Scheme Grains 2012 (PIFS Grain). GPSA operates a range of policy and project work on behalf of growers under the plan, which is reviewed annually with industry consultation.

The South Australian Minister for Agriculture is responsible for the management of producers’ money collected under the scheme. The Minister released the 2012-2017 PIFS Grain Management Plan in October 2012 which provides guidance as to how the funds can be spent. GPSA’s submits a report to the Minister annually regarding progress against its objectives.